The Process for License Reinstatement after a DUI

As soon as you are charged with a DUI in South Carolina, your driver’s license is automatically suspended. Along with preparing your defense in the criminal case, an experienced Orangeburg DUI lawyer will assist you in getting your driving privileges reinstated.

These are the different processes for license reinstatement, depending on your specific situation.

1. Provisional Driver’s License

You are eligible to apply for this type of license only once, after your first DUI offense. The provisional license is valid for six (6) months, and you can apply for it if you meet all the following conditions:

  • You have or have had a valid South Carolina driver’s license.
  • You must not have any other license suspensions, except for these (related to the same DUI offense): breath test refusal, breath test refusal under 21, BAC of 0.02 or greater, BAC of 0.15 or greater, alcohol violation.
  • You fulfilled all the requirements of any prior suspensions, violations, revocations, or cancellations.
  • You are enrolled in the Alcohol and Drug Safety Program.
  • You pay the $100 fee for the provisional license.

2. Temporary Alcohol License

If you file an appeal against the license suspension, while you are going through the administrative hearing process, you may apply for a temporary alcohol license (TAL).

You must meet several conditions concomitantly in order to be eligible for a TAL. These refer to the type of DUI violation:

  • Breath test refusal
  • Breath test refusal under 21
  • BAC of 0.15
  • BAC of 0.02 or more under 21.

You must also pay a $100 fee for this license. Your Orangeburg DUI attorney will explain to you that the TAL is valid until the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles (SCDMV) receives the result of your administrative hearing.

If you lose the appeal and your license continues to be suspended, you must surrender the TAL to an SCDMV branch. If you win the appeal and your driving privileges are reinstated, you must also return the TAL to SCDMV before applying for a regular driver’s license.

Orangeburg DUI lawyer

3. Route Restricted Driver’s License

Before applying for this type of license, you must think carefully, because you can receive it only once in your lifetime, according to South Carolina rules. You are eligible for a route-restricted license only for specific violations, among which:

  • Alcohol violation
  • BAC of 0.15
  • Breath test refusal
  • Misrepresentation of identity
  • False insurance certification.

As its name implies, a route-restricted license only allows you to drive between your home and a few specific destinations:

  • Work or school
  • Work or school-related destinations
  • Alcohol safety program offices
  • Court-ordered drug program center.

This type of license is valid during the entire period of your regular driver’s license suspension.

4. Full Driver’s License Reinstatement

Once you have fulfilled the entire period of your license suspension, you will be able to apply for the reinstatement of your regular license. Your Orangeburg DUI lawyer will check with you that you meet all the requirements for this process:

  • You have paid all legal fees and fines
  • You have satisfied any court requirements
  • You have completed the alcohol treatment program
  • You have paid $100 for the license reinstatement fee
  • You have installed an ignition interlock device if required.

An Orangeburg DUI Lawyer Will Help You Regain Your Driving Privileges!

Getting your full license back or a temporary one involves complying with all the legal requirements. Even if you skip a single one, your application will be denied. Thus, you should not risk losing the right to drive to work or other court-mandated appointments. 

An experienced Orangeburg DUI attorney will make sure that you meet all conditions before handing in your application. Do not hesitate. Call us today at 803-353-1969 to schedule a free case review!